

MINUTES OF THE 45TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE WILTSHIRE ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY HELD ON WEDNESDAY 30TH SEPTEMBER 2020 VIA ZOOM

1. Welcome and Apologies:

The Chairman Matt Prior welcomed 40 members to the 45th[®] Annual General Meeting conducted via zoom as a result of the Corona virus pandemic. Apologies were received from Martin Cook, Andrew Bray, John MCAllister, Eric Pearce and Nick Tomalin.

2. Minutes of 2019 AGM:

The minutes of the 2019 AGM had been circulated prior to the meeting. Members accepted the minutes without comment.

3. Chairman's Address: Matt Prior

1. Thanks to the Committee for the work done over the last year.

2. Alison Rymell is stepping down from the Executive Committee after a decade of service as Indoor

Meetings Organiser and now contributing to the editorial team of WOS News.

3. The Editorial team of WOS News were thanked for their hard work.

4. Nick Adams has stepped down as Recorder after three years of very hard work on the management of records.

5. Martin Cook is stepping down as Treasurer after three years having transformed the accounts and our understanding of them.

6. Thanks to the editorial team of Hobby and all who contribute to it.

7. Conservation projects have continued with increasing knowledge regarding Tree Sparrows becoming more well known across the county.

8. The landfill tax funded Reed Bed project has been completed, and leftover money used to deliver another Tree Sparrow project in the Thames Valley.

Outdoor Meetings were very successful, with the long weekend trip to Norfolk being the highlight.
Indoor meetings were enjoyed by those attending, but the numbers were low despite alternate locations being tried.

11. The Web site continues to be managed excellently by Gareth Hawkes despite continued attacks which we are all blissfully unaware of. Bill Quantrill has stepped down as BTO representative, and his quiet persistent work now means there are 94 surveyors completing four times the number of surveys than when he started. Claire Jones takes over his BTO role.

12. We received over the last year the sad news of the passing of John Brown, twice Chairman of WOS, and Anna Grayson, the longest serving secretary of WOS.

- 4. Treasurer's Report:
- 5. Recorders Report:
- 6. Election of Chairman:
- 7. Election Treasurer:
- 8. Election of Secretary:
- 9. Election of Executive Committee:

Ted Smith was elected as Treasurer. David Little was re-elected as Secretary. Paul Castle was re-elected as deputy chairman. Andrew Bray, Graham Deacon, Granville Pictor, Frank Mogford, Gareth Hawkes, and Peter Cranswick, were re-elected to the Committee. Claire Jones was elected as Recorder. Sue Wilthew was elected as Indoor Meetings Organiser. Johnny Cooper was elected to the Executive Committee, David Marson was accepted as Auditor for 2021.

The Secretary read the report in Martin Cook's absence.

Matt Prior was re-elected as Chairman for the coming year.

Matt Prior read Claire Jones's report to the audience.

10. Election of Auditor: 11. Any Other Business:

a) **Grapevine.** Nigel Pleass spoke about the grapevine and concerns with delays in information of unusual sightings reaching the membership. There are sixty people on the grapevine, and everyone was encouraged to share rare sightings as soon as possible so the membership could benefit.

There being no further business the Chairman closed the formal meeting at 2020 hours.

DJL 2.10.2020